But Peter and John answered them, ‘Whether it’s right in the sight of God for us to listen to rather than to God, you decide; for we are unable to stop speaking about what we have seen and heard.”                          Acts 4:19-20

Peter and John weren’t telling people about Jesus because of some sort of religious expectations or because they were enrolled in their church evangelism training program.  They weren’t witnessing because God was making them do it.  They just couldn’t contain themselves!  What they had experienced was life changing and had to be passed on.  They were compelled from within to tell whoever would listen.  It’s a story worth telling.

Tonight, I write this from Lithuania after having spent about 3 hours with 5 University students.  After some brief introductions and filling up on some pizza (some foods are just loved by College Students everywhere), I proceeded to share my story.  I just had to tell them how God had confronted me while I was in College.  I wanted them to know how radically my life had changed and how much forgiveness and love I had received from Him.  I couldn’t help but think that they had to be struggling with some of the spiritual questions I had when I was in College.

And you know what?  My willingness to transparently share my story prompted them to open up about their own spiritual questions and journey.   It was a moment I will treasure for as long as I live.  It’s amazing how God uses our personal encounter with Jesus to tenderize other’s hearts to the things of God.  I believe these five students will be the beginning of a new church here.

Some people say they witness to others simply out of obedience to God.  Well, obedience is a really good thing.  But it’s not exactly what God had in mind.  You and I should be sharing the Gospel with others because we love people.  You and I should be sharing the Gospel because we don’t want anyone to miss out on God’s unlimited grace.  You and I should be sharing the Gospel because of how grateful to God we are for what He did for all of us.  It really helps me share the Gospel whenever I make it a point to remember these things

As long as we share Jesus only because we have to, we’re going to miss out on a lot of the joy we could be experiencing.  Witnessing is not a matter of giftedness.  Think about your story.  Isn’t it worth sharing?!  Someone will really benefit if you will share it.  You know, that’s what “fishers of men” do.

Leave a Reply

