“Ask of me, and I will make the nations your heritage, and the ends of the earth your possession.”  Psalm 2:8

I couldn’t believe it!  I fished for about 5 hours and never went more than a minute or two without a fish on my line.  I had to stop because I was exhausted.  Jim had taken me fishing and guaranteed that we’d catch some fish.  He wasn’t joking.  He knew how and where to fish.  He was a fisherman.

What amazed me was that we were 30 miles off the coast in the Gulf of Mexico.  How in the world did he ever find this place?  He told me he was willing to go wherever he had to find fish and stumbled on this spot a couple years earlier.  That’s what I call commitment and perseverance.

Do you have this attitude when it comes to “fishing for men?” Are you willing to go wherever people are open to the Gospel.  Are you willing to go outside your comfort zone if it means you can “catch some men?” That’s what Jesus was talking about when He said to go out “into all the world” or make disciples “of all the nations.”  He even said He would be with us as we went to the “uttermost parts of the world.”

“Fishers of men” are always looking to see where people are open to the Gospel.  When God opens a door, we need to go.  If you’re not physically able to go, then help resource and pray for another person to go.  It’s God’s will!  That’s why He says to, “Ask of me, and I will make the nations your heritage, and the ends of the earth your possession.”

Leave a Reply

