“A good man leaves an inheritance to his children’s children.” Proverbs 13:22

It was recently announced that I would be a grandfather next summer.  Aside from being too young to be a grandfather this is the kind of news I could get excited about.  Another prospective golf partner and Georgia Tech Yellow Jacket fan.  Plus, I always did like telling bedtime stories to my kids…now I get to do it again with my grandchild.

I’ve also already changed since hearing the news.  I’m seeing things I’ve never seen before.  Did you know there’s a store named Babies R Us?  I always thought it was a Toys R Us.  And have you checked out the price of a stroller recently?  Whoa!  No wonder I see so many parents carrying their kids in a backpack.  Plus, the strollers are so large, you’ve got to own a 12 passenger van just to transport it along with all the other baby paraphernalia.

Another way I’ve changed is that I’m noticing new verses that have been added to the Bible.  Okay, maybe they haven’t been added, but I don’t remember ever seeing them before.   I just noticed that Proverbs 13:22 says I’m suppose to leave an inheritance to my children’s children.  The paraphrased version would be “my grandchild should get something from me.”  Then I thought again, “Poor kid, his grandfather is a poor preacher.”

I got to thinking about this verse a little more and it dawned on me that this wasn’t just an admonition to leave money to my grandchild (though I’m sure he wouldn’t object to having some cash – did I say “he”).  This verse would include passing on eternal values, life lessons, fun experiences, and a life model of what’s really important.  A legacy of life.  And the secret to my life and legacy would be found in my personal relationship with Jesus Christ.

Of all the lessons I’ve ever learned, the most important would have to be about the dramatic impact that Jesus Christ has had on my life.  I get to pass this on to my grandchild.  He’s going to love Jesus!  I think I’ll pass this part of the inheritance on to him early.

What about you?  Did you know that grandparents are to be “fishers of men?” A “fisher of men” is simply one who shares the Good News about Jesus to those who cross his path.  There’s no greater joy than passing this on to someone so close to you, like a grandchild.

I look forward to the day when I can tell my grandchild about Jesus.

I can’t wait until my grandchild meets Jesus.

6 responses »

  1. Wayne says:

    Congratulations!

  2. Darla says:

    This was just great! I do love that you are already referring to the baby as a “he”! 😉 Your children and your children are so blessed to already have such an amazing legacy in both you and Cindy! So….have you decided what you’re gonna be called?? Papa, Grandpa, PawPaw, Grandaddy,….you’ll be great no matter what!

    Love you both!!
    Darla

  3. schneinm says:

    “Of all the lessons I’ve ever learned, the most important would have to be about the dramatic impact that Jesus Christ has had on my life.”

    It has been (and continues to be) a blessing to learn from you!

Leave a Reply

